Construction Engineering Business, Jomas Associates’ CEO, Dr Roni Savage named, as UK Government unveils new SME Council members.

The membership of the new Government led SME Business Council was unveiled this morning, as their first meeting was held at No10 Downing Street, Westminster.

The Council, chaired by Small Business Minister, Kevin Hollinrake MP, has been set up by the Government to reaffirm its commitment to the UK’s 5.6 million SMEs. The Council will serve as a forum for action orientated engagement between small businesses, representative organisations, and HMG, providing an opportunity for small businesses to shape actions in agreed priority areas, and give feedback on Government policy ambitions for UK small businesses.

The Council will be a powerful voice for small businesses within Government and has been tasked with overseeing three key areas – Access to finance, skills and support as well as, removing barriers (including access to procurement).

Jomas Associates, a business at the forefront of providing Engineering and Environmental solutions to the Construction Industry across the UK, are delighted to have this opportunity to contribute to shaping policy decisions that will empower SMEs, and drive growth in the economy.

Almost every business in the country is a small business (99.9%) who in turn support 27million jobs across the UK, accounting for £4.5 trillion of annual turnover. Almost every billion-pound company, tech giant or multinational corporation started off as small business, which is why this Council has been formed, to help support and nurture the next generation of small firms to thrive and grow.

With firms representing all corners of the UK, covering sectors including engineering, manufacturing, construction, food and drink, the new council aims to truly represent the makeup of UK industry.

Members of the council include;

  • Michelle Ovens CBE  Founder/CEO – Small Business Britain 
  • Neil Davy CEO – Family Business UK
  • Tina McKenzie Policy Chair – Federation of Small Businesses 
  • Roni Savage CEO & Founder – Jomas Associates (Engineering) Ltd
  • Andrew Bissell CEO – Sunamp
  • Alan Lowry CEO – Environmental Street Furniture
  • Debbie Williams Co-founder – John Williams Heating Servies Ltd
  • Emma Heal MD – Lucky Saint
  • Thomas Robson Kanu Founder – Turmeric Co
  • Julianne Ponan MBE CEO – Creative Nature Superfoods
  • Peter Davies MD – James Lister and Sons
  • Gary Parlett Co-founder – Answer Digital
  • Tania Boler Founder – Elvie
  • Richard Marshall Founder – Pall Mall Barbers
  • Elizabeth Vega CEO – Informed Solutions
  • Tessa Clarke Co-founder – Olio
  • Jordan Schwarzenberger Co-founder – Arcade Media
  • Julie White MD- D-Drill
  • Mike Bristow CEO – Crowd Property Ltd

Link to Government Announcement – SME Council membership revealed ahead of first meeting – GOV.UK (

Share This Post

More To Explore